The “anti prescription medication” bandwagon is officially in town!

Oh goody! I just love ignorant, happy clappy, easily led people with an opinion.

I hate to run the risk of looking like a Negative Nancy (again) here, but I am going to flip my lid at the next chronically ill person that I catch preaching on about plants and natural remedies being better than prescribed medicines. Just because they work for you, does not mean that you are in a position to guilt trip someone for popping 50 prescribed pills a day. Do not tell your fellow sickies to “make the right decision” and post packets of your herbal medicines. Just don’t do it. Okay?

We are all judged far too often. We are pushed around by our friends and foe. We all receive unwanted advice regularly. Why on earth would any of us actively contribute to that toxic circle?

Yes, ask me if I’ve tried a certain remedy that has worked for you. Ask me if I’ve heard of a supplement if you have reason to believe it might help me. Tell me what works for you and how you heard about it. I want to know these things. You can even tell me about how much better you feel having stopped taking a drug because that’s your experience and it’s valid.

I don’t take any serious pain killers because my body is a jackass and won’t tolerate them. Believe me, if I could, I’d be popping them like jelly beans on my bad days. I take real antihistamines because my allergies are far too severe for anything from the health food store – in fact, I’m allergic to a bunch of these “natural” allergy remedies. Most of the things I’m allergic to are natural.

I use CBD oil, paraffin wax, TENS, splinting and rest for my pain. Believe me, though, if there was a pharmaceutical drug that made my life easier, I’d take it in a heartbeat.

Go ahead and take your ground up bits of plant and please do share the benefits you yield from them. But, please don’t be an asshole about it. Just because it works well for you does not mean it is “better” than something that works for someone else. And whatever you do, don’t float on up onto your high horse and judge your fellow sickies for taking medicines. One day, you will topple from that homeopathic horse and your “pill popping” pals won’t ever listen to you or care the same way they used to.

Ren x

2 thoughts on “The “anti prescription medication” bandwagon is officially in town!

  1. Ms. Mango says:

    I’m in the camp of “What-ever-the-hell-works-for-you” I do agree that if you can avoid popping pills YOU DON’T NEED…then duh… avoid them. I think it’s safe to say though for most of us chronically ill people stuck taking a bunch of pharmaceuticals daily we’d love to just switch to smoothies and aromatherapy to take away our pain and symptoms, we just can’t. It’s that simple, and anyone that tries to shame us into not ‘trying’ is an asshole. Personally I wish I didn’t react badly to more medications to help with pain OR that I actually benefited from more natural remedies that seem to do nothing for me. It seems mostly like I just have to tough it out and wait for it to go away.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

