I am an aloe propagating goddess! And other stuff…

My recent blogs have all been fairly purposed so I’ve not mentioned things that have happened in my life recently. I know that you’re all dying to hear about my shenanigans, so here we go:

My Aloe Vera has spawned a million babies. I only got it six months ago from Ikea. This thing clearly thrives on neglect:

 

My Mum sent me a fold-away camp chair for when it’s nice outside. It’s pretty basic but will make a massive difference to me getting fresh air on nice days. I really don’t care that I’ll look like a weirdo. I usually have the budgies outside with me and I think “crazy bird lady” trumps any concern about sitting in the communal courtyard on a chair. Meg says hi:

meg hi

J broke his toe playing Pokémon. He was running through the house to tell me there was an Eevee and he sort of missed the part where you fully open the door and kicked it full force. He went down like a sack of potatoes and his phone went flying. Needless to say he’s feeling very sorry for himself and is more enamoured with this little pocket monster lately:

barry

It turns out my antihistamines “can make some people photosensitive” despite no mention of it in the booklet. I seem to be one of those people. Of course I am. I only went out for a short time the other day and a few hours later I looked like a lobster. It all peeled off. I’ve never been more than a bit pink in my entire life. I think I’ll just slap on the factor 50 everyday now, regardless:

peely skin

I’ve been back at physio. I’ve got some gentle Pilates to do to try and strengthen my core and even these basic exercises absolutely wipe me out. I’ve to keep an activity diary and come up with three things that make me happy that I’d like to be able to do again. I’m back in just over a week so I’ll probably start my diary on Monday. Any tips from my fellow bloggers? She also gave me wrist braces to wear to bed at night as unconsciously try to snap my wrists off in my sleep. Ever tried to sleep in wrist braces? It’s not easy. Grr.

nails

(I’ve also stopped biting my nails enough to pain them! I eventually raised £140 for EDS-UK which is far more than the £50 target I originally set myself. Hooray!)

Super Mum got onto the pain clinic about why my referral was (once again) taking forever. It turns out that the consultant I was due to see had been given the referral from my rheumatologist but had gone on a month’s annual leave. That’s an extra month I’d be waiting before I was even put on a list – which is shite. Thankfully, Mum used to work in anaesthetics and politely told them that it’s not good enough and that I’ve already had two lots referrals go missing and waited for the entire “waiting list time period” TWICE for them to decide not to see me – despite me still having no pain relief. I have the pain clinic on the 30th of August and immunology in mid-September. I really hope that they can work TOGETHER to find me pain relief instead of the pain clinic permanently waiting to see what every other speciality has to say and me being left to twiddle my thumbs in pain.

I think that’s most things. It’s not super exciting but It’s my life!

Ren x

7 thoughts on “I am an aloe propagating goddess! And other stuff…

  1. bowermanland says:

    If you’re not allergic to the aloe you can use it on your burned skin and on any uncomfortable patches you get from the wrist braces. Never had to sleep in them, only use them the rest of the time. I hope you find a comfortable way to sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brokendownbody says:

      I’m okay with aloe! Yeah, i do use the gel, much to J’s amusement. I try to avoid bracing during the day as I’m terrified of losing anymore muscle tone – but feel like it’s a requirement if i’m going to be making repetitive movements or putting strain on joints that are prone to hyperextending. Sleeping in the braces is hellish, i keep taking them off at 4am. Oops!

      Like

  2. Kara says:

    Cute little critters! I think I killed aloe once, and I’m just now remembering I’ve completely forgotten about my “virtual garden”, so all of my stupid simulated plants are probably dead too. That’s pretty sad. Artificial plants would probably die in my care.

    I hope you get into pain management soon! It’s awful you’ve had to wait that long, but it’s much of the same here in the US as well, sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brokendownbody says:

      They are seriously cute, which is lucky for the budgies because when they screech constantly, they don’t have many other redeeming qualities…

      Mum used to be a secretary in the anaesthetic dept so she contacted them the other week to see what had happened with my referral, and she sort of laid the smack-down on them. Mum was pretty direct in telling them that constantly bumping me to the back of the line isn’t good enough and constantly fobbing me off on other specialities isn’t good enough either because they have no idea what to do about my pain and BAM I have an appointment for the end of this month. Wonderful! Sometimes you just need an angry parent to kick up a shit storm!
      R x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kara says:

        Hahaha, yeah! Doctors fear the maternal wrath! I’ve had my Mom with me at a couple of my appointments and I almost felt like I needed to apologize for her, and then I thought ‘nah, they earned it’. Awesome. 🙂

        Like

  3. kaiwanders says:

    After about 2 years of having to dig wrist braces out from under the bed most mornings because I’d taken them off without remembering, I’ve gone way too far in the opposite direction and feel weird if I try to sleep without wrist braces on! I’m not sure how much good they do bc I’m always taking the left one off to re-attatch my hand, but docs say it’s still best if I wear it?!

    Hope the pain clinic appt is useful!

    Like

    1. brokendownbody says:

      That’s funny! I don’t think I’ll ever get used to these suckers. They do make a difference though, even if it’s just for part of the night. Do you wear a specific brand? I find the velcro on mine really bugs me through the night. I guess I didn’t realise how much I rest my head on my hands when I sleep – though it is becoming clear that it’s because my neck needs the support as my neck aches every morning. DAMMIT!

      Like

Leave a Reply

