Mostly, I just sit around all day being fantastic.

I always read about people trying to pace themselves – these people clearly have far more self-control than I do. Maybe pacing is easier when your illness is more stable? Right now, I never know when I’m going to have a good day or a bad day. I tend to get a run of a few good days and then a few bad days but that pattern cannot be relied upon. On a bad day I can’t do anything, not even shower or watch an hour of TV without being sore and restless. On an okay day, I might manage to do the dishwasher and make the beds and potter about the flat. On a good day I AM THE KING OF THE FREAKIN’ WORLD! So on the good days I do far too much and wipe myself out. When I say “do too much”, to a healthy person it’s still a reasonably sedentary day, but to me it is a grand adventure.

This weekend I think I might have partaken in too much adventuring. Now I’m suffering. It was worth it.

brewdog

On Thursday night I went out for dinner and drinks with my amazing friend who has just graduated as a dentist. We ate pizza, drank wine and rum and danced to Prince. I got drunk and ate McDonalds on my way home. It was glorious. I genuinely cannot remember the last time I had a night like this.

On Saturday evening I went to the Moscow State Circus with one of my friends from work – It’s handy that they are a whole three minutes walk away from my front door. It was really entertaining, though paying for the good seats meant that we got COVERED in bubbles and drenched by a Super Soaker, maybe this just added to the fun? The girl next to us was on a date and was wearing a white t-shirt. She looked distinctly unimpressed.

Then On Sunday afternoon (yesterday) I went for Mexican food and a couple of cocktails with an old dental nurse friend which was hilarious. We are on the same wave length and both say what we think and generally get up to mischief. Thankfully J dropped me off and picked me up so I wasn’t walking about too much – he really is brilliant.

So yes. What’s pacing? I’ve over done it, I know. I needed to for the sake of my sanity. For all of the crappy, sore times that I have, I need some positivity from recent history to reflect on and this weekend will keep me smiling for some time. But for now, my body is mad. All of my sore bits are sore and I am beyond exhausted. But again, totally worth it.

Ren x

2 thoughts on “Mostly, I just sit around all day being fantastic.

  1. Ms. Mango says:

    Sometimes pushing limits physically is what it takes to get the mental and emotional break from living with a chronic illness day in day out. I think we’ve all been there at one point or another. The important thing is to try the whole pacing thing the rest of the time. So glad to hear you had an amazing weekend, hope your recovery isn’t too bad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. brendaflippen says:

    I know what you mean, I really do, not just saying this. I honestly think if we don’t have some “normal” time we would totally lose our minds. So yes when I can, I over do it. Every chance I get, I over do it. And I will continue for as long as possible. Because the times I get to over do it seem to be fewer and farther apart. So here to over doing it !!😜🙋💊🎶🎶🍹🍻🍰🍨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

