Driving an Audi may make you a lot of things, but not disabled.

People in the UK seem to really struggle with what this is:

Parking space for disabled person

Yes, you and I are more than aware that it is a disabled parking space for people with mobility problems. It is not an extra-large space for your extra precious Audi, nor is it a space for lazy people who refuse to walk the extra twenty seconds to a regular space. It’s not for people who cannot bay park, nor is it a space for delivery drivers to park for a moment or for workmen to set up their van for the entire day. Lastly, it is absolutely not an overflow space for when all of the other spaces are full at night.

In the UK, disabled parking on public land is monitored and enforced by the council. I live in a converted hospital which is on private ground, so management of the land falls to the factoring company who until recently haven’t been very willing to rock the boat in fear of upsetting fee-paying residents. Every property has an allocated, numbered space but as you will see, residents prefer to use the seven “visitor” spaces as they are closer to the door and when those are full, they just park freestyle like absolute assholes. You know who else likes to use spaces that are close to the door? People whose ankles and hips dislocate when they walk. You see that funny looking yellow bay? That’s for us.

I don’t have a blue badge yet because I haven’t yet gone through the process of claiming Personal Independence Payment because I naively hoped I would be all better and back to work by now. But I’m about to claim because now I have a diagnosis and I’m not getting back to work imminently. We don’t even have a car, but we do borrow my Dad’s car at the weekends so that I can have some sort of social life. I also have to get a taxi to and from my weekly appointments which can leave me extremely sore. Not once has the taxi driver been able to drop me off or pick me up from the disabled space which shows exactly how much of a crap people in this development give about disability.

I wrote to our letting agent about the issue, explaining my diagnosis and that being forced to walk to the other end of the development to get to our allocated space can cause me to dislocate/sublux joints and fall. I was polite as they have always been very kind about my illness, arranging for inspections and repairs around when I would be up and about. Actually, our landlords have always been top notch! The director of the company did our last inspection and was genuinely interested in how I was doing. They e-mailed back and said they’d contact the letting agents (who had previously dismissed me outright based on me being a tenant, not an owner) so, I waited, not expecting much.

In the post today arrived a letter from the factors. It was just addressed to “the occupier” so it’s safe to assume everyone got one. It was to remind residents to park in their allocated space and that the seven visitors’ spaces may be used but the disabled spaces were to be left for disabled people. There was even a map, making it crystal clear, in case the guy with the SUPER special Porsche was in any confusion.

It’s a small victory, but I’m claiming it.

Just so you can get an idea, these same able bodied residents (who I have confronted) continually use the disabled space as an overflow spot, and the Porsche driver parks his Citroen in his allocated spot and leaves his Porsche in the disabled space for literally weeks on end. He is an absolute ass hat of the highest order. Please note that while these are the same cars, they are all on different days, the disabled space is on the far right of these photos:

newparkingthumbnail_IMG_0458thumbnail_IMG_0679thumbnail_IMG_0704thumbnail_IMG_9237thumbnail_IMG_9307thumbnail_IMG_9345thumbnail_IMG_9583thumbnail_SubstandardFullSizeRender

I’m loving this Facebook page, if you have the same rage as me, It’s worth checking out:

Want my space? Take my disability.

Ren x

 

7 thoughts on “Driving an Audi may make you a lot of things, but not disabled.

  1. katwilson04 says:

    Unless the process has changed, you can apply for a badge without being in receipt of any benefit. I got mine no problem without having PIP? Oh and I can’t get PIP, so good luck with that process!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brokendownbody says:

      There is a guy in Aberdeen who has successfully got PIP for a lot of people who had previously been refused. I’ll look out his details for you 😊
      It seems that going through the process now for a blue badge is so similar to PIP (even similar questions) that it seems silly to go though both procedures at the same time? Why is it all so draining?! =[

      Liked by 1 person

      1. katwilson04 says:

        Meh! I’ve applied twice now and appealed once for PIP, apparently because I can “sometimes” go to the toilet on my own I’m not “disabled enough”. This is my 2nd blue badge, I have never had any problem getting it, thankfully. It’s tells you on the PIP if you fail the appeal, the other things you can “get” to help, blue badge is one of them!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mrs HippyGeek says:

    I got my blue badge before pip was awarded. Having explained the trouble I have with dislocating in my application & giving them a copy of the EDS UK website, they didn’t even ask for an interview.

    Having it is however, utterly life changing. Getting into my chair is so much easier although we still encounter the odd looks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

