I just like to smile, smiling’s my favourite!

Buddy the Elf

Why is negativity so harshly judged in today’s society? Basically, to be deemed a likeable, good person you have to have rainbows shining out your arsehole 24/7. The only exception to this rule is that one is permitted to be depressed and negative or anxious and negative but you can’t just be bloody fed up. I’m not mentally ill, I’m pissed off with my sack of crap body. And y’know what? It’s okay to be pissed off at times. It’s okay to yell to the world “I’M REALLY PISSED OFF RIGHT NOW, YOU FUCKING SUCK! ARRRRRGH!” Okay, so your neighbours will probably tell their kids not to speak to the bat crap crazy lady next door, and no one will knock on your door at Halloween, but it doesn’t make you any less of a nice, kind, caring, fun person than people who are chronically upbeat. Frankly, I find people who don’t have a harsh word to say about anything to be extremely false and as dull a dishwater. It’s not that I condone incessant bitching, but no one likes EVERYTHING, all of the time. I’m calling bullshit.

bumhole-paint

I like a great many things. I am positive about most things and think that one of the most important things in life is to laugh. Indeed, there are times when you need to put your positive pants on and look on the bright side of life. But people who are blindly and naively positive really piss me off. I know I’m a cynical cow but I’m okay with that. If all of these happy clappy plastic people had an ounce of cynicism, I’d like them more.

If you don’t agree with this post, that’s okay. You probably won’t say anything anyway because that’d be negative and you’d go to happy clappy hell with me. You probably even tell people (who ask) that their outfit looks good when it looks like crap and you let them go out looking rubbish – you’re doing the world no favours with your games.

Ren x

One thought on “I just like to smile, smiling’s my favourite!

  1. bowermanland says:

    I am incredibly Optimistic – doesn’t stop me being some of the other dwarves – Grumpy, Angry, Sad. I am unapologetically these things. I am unapologetically varied in my mood, manner etc. Varigated people of the world Unite, you have nothing to lose but your Luminous Balloonknots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

