When chronic illness meets viral illness…

OH HAPPY DAYS! Thanks J. I know we share everything but I’d have been 100% okay with you keeping your germs to yourself, especially as I was being such a lovely nurse despite my own pain.

He was off work on Friday, has been feeling sorry for himself all weekend and is still suffering today though seems to be on the mend. I feel like a sack of shit now. On top of feeling my usual flavour of awful, I now feel feverish, have a sore throat, banging headache, can’t stop sneezing and a blocked nose. Fan-freakin’-tastic. This cannot be happening. This is the last thing I need.

On the other hand, the lady at the MRI place was lovely. She loves her job and was so kind and caring. She asked me what matters to me when it comes to attending NHS appointments. She said she’s toying with the idea of retiring but she’d be such a loss to the NHS. I was a little anxious about the MRI as it’s something new and I knew that lying still for a period of time would be quite uncomfortable for me (oh, it was!) but she chatted away about how the younger women keep her young and how she still can’t figure out if the Spice Girls are back together or not! Are they?! I must write and praise her while I’m writing my mammoth complaint in coming months. I now wait to hear back from rheumatology with the results…

If I vanish for 4 or 5 days, I’m probably just dosed up on Lemsips and cursing J. I know he can’t help sharing his germs but I’m so pissed at him tonight. Grr!

Ren x

4 thoughts on “When chronic illness meets viral illness…

  1. Ms. Mango says:

    I hope you manage to be on the mend soon! The combo of chronic and acute conditions at the same time is double trouble and unfortunately at least in my case usually means I get stuck with a viral infection twice as long as my counterpart (though being a woman seems to make me handle it better…). Rest up and take care! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. brokendownbody says:

    Literally just sprayed some vile Sudafed stuff up my nose. I can deal with the sore throat etc but i turn into a monster when my nose is blocked 😄 J just filled my hot water bottle and is away to buy me ice lollies so i’ll try not to murder him… I have a horrible feeling this is going to turn into full blown sinusitis. It already feels like my face is going to fall off and my eye may explode. Oh noooo!

    Like

  3. clearlytonya says:

    I have this same thing. In the grand scheme of things, this isn’t a horrible cold but because my body already fights daily just to do what I ask it to, it totally freaks out if I get a virus. I go a little psychotic when people say “oh don’t worry, it only lasted a couple days when I had it” lol. I know I’ll be down for at least a week. Anyways, hope you feel better soon and get lots of rest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brokendownbody says:

      I’m sorry some sod got you with the lurgy too!! Half of J’s work seem to have had it over the past week… I’ve given up on expecting sympathy from normally healthy people. Both of my parents have commented on it just being a cold… Grr.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

