Redundancy Shmundancy

On Friday J found out he wasn’t being made redundant after weeks of torment and worry. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before but he works in the oil and gas industry which is an absolute car crash right now. There are hundreds of redundancies every single day in Aberdeen alone. It’s rough as hell. Everyone knows someone who has been made redundant in the past year. J has been working late and then coming home and working on presentations for head office to try and save their skins. He is absolutely buggered – poor sod.

He has understandably not been himself. I hate watching him be stressed out. When I’m stressed out I’m needy and want cuddles and closeness, J is the opposite and it kills me to back off when every bone in my body wants to hold him close and tell him we’ll be okay. But we are okay. It’s been stressing me out so much but the redundancies in his team have been “parked” until September when we will inevitably go through the same head fuck again. I’m hoping he finds a new, more stable job at that point if the worst comes to the worst. He’s very clever and very employable, that guy can do whatever he puts his mind to. He says he’ll be a millionaire by the time he’s 40. If anyone can do it, it’s him!

blossom

The blossom tree next to our flat is so pretty just now…

Anyway, it’s one less thing grinding me down. A pretty substantial weight has been lifted. We went to see “Alice Through The Looking Glass” at the cinema yesterday (it was okay, not as good as X-Men) and on the walk home, J was telling me about how he can’t get a game to run on Linux as opposed to Windows due to his computer snobbery. I reminded him that compared to 2 days ago, that’s a pretty alright thing to be your biggest worry! It was sunny and the wind had died down and it was nice. I feel a bit like the sun is shining on my life and the wind has died down a bit for now. I’m still keeping my fingers crossed that the good luck carries on to Rheumatology on Tuesday, though that might be pushing it…

Ren x

2 thoughts on “Redundancy Shmundancy

  1. Ms. Mango says:

    Sorry to hear it’s been so stressful around there, though happy to hear that his job is safe for the time being and you can settle your nerves a bit. Fingers crossed for you that your rheumo goes well and you get the answers you need and a treatment plan that will work. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. brokendownbody says:

      I am so anxious about tomorrow… I so badly need someone to want to help my pain. It’s not manageable. Gah. Literally my only cause of utter anxiety is medical appointments and the fear of my pain being dismissed when i so badly need some relief. Gaaaaah!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

